E902 (V): Candelilla wax They even had Starch (V): a complex carbohydrate found in seeds, fruits, tubers, roots and stem pith of plants such as corn, potatoes, wheat, beans and rice.

Cochineal (Carmine, Carminic acid, Natural Red 4)(A): red pigment extracted from the crushed carcasses of the female cochineal insect, a cactus-feeding scale insect It is used as a food coloring. Lanolin(e) (A): fat extracted from sheep's wool. Can also be derived from animal fats. H Hide (A): animal skin (raw or tanned) E950 (V): Acesulfame Tertiary Butylhydroquinone (V): TBHQ.
F Fatty acids (B): organic compounds: saturated, polyunsaturated and unsaturated.

Derived from coal tar. FD&C Yellow No. Albumen is usually derived from eggwhites (ovalbumin), but can also be found in plasma (serum albumin), milk (lactalbumin) and vegetables and fruits. Hydrochloric Acid (V): formed by heating hydrogen and chlorine gas to form hydrogen chloride gas, which is then absorbed in water.

Chymosin (B): R ennin Royal jelly (A): food on which bee larvae are fed and which causes them to develop into queen bees. It can be derived from animal cells, milk or plant sources (like fruits) or produced synthetically. Don’t be concerned by it, you can get either kind as a vegan and be fine. It's the main ingredient of dashi. Cholecalciferol (A): Vitamin D3 (B) = Ingredient exists in both animal and vegan versions, A B C D E F G H I K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y E Numbers, A Yellow 5 also causes hyperactivity in children and causes cancer? Malic acid is also added which just NutraSweet (V): Aspartame It can also be manufactured from esters of oleic acid. Can also be derived from microbial or synthetic sources. Here’s a quick look at potential non-vegan ingredients in some of the most popular brands. Jabeen, H., Ur Rahman, S., Mahmood, S., Anwer, S., 2013. So while I was eating my vegan Thanksgiving with my omni family my sister in law asked if I can use Lemon Pepper seasoning. So I did a little Googling.. It is derived from the sea algae Dunaliella salina. The sugar and syrup mixture is cooled down very rapidly such that there’s no time for crystals to form.5 The food dyes are what give most vegans pause when it comes to consuming popular candies.

Velvet (B): fabric made usually of silk but also rayon or nylon. compound used as a blue colorant in processed foods, dietary supplements, medications, M It’s also used in a lot of non-food products Betatene (V): trade name for a naturally occurring blend of carotenes, including beta carotene. Chitin (A): organic base of the hard parts of insects and crustacea e.g. E422 (B): Glycerin(e), Glycerol

It is mainly used in the manufacturing of baking powder. Sorbic acid (V): white powder obtained from fruit or produced synthetically  Manufactured by treating propylene with chlorinated water and treating it with sodium carbonate solution or by heating glycerol with sodium hydroxide and distilling the mixture. Charcoal (B): charred bone or wood Sodium Laureth Sulfate (SLES) (V): the sodium salt of sulfated ethoxylated lauryl alcohol

Ergocalciferol (B): Vitamin D2

19140, FD&C Yellow 5, Acid Yellow 23, Food Yellow 4, and trisodium 1-(4-sulfonatophenyl)-4-(4-sulfonatophenylazo)-5-pyrazolone-3-carboxylate).[5]. shrimps, crabs

Yellow 5 is principally the sodium salt of 4,5-dihydro-5-oxo-(1-4-sulfophenyl)-4-[(4-sulfophenyl)azo]-1H-pyrazole-3-carboxylic acid. It is usually made with a mixture of flour and water inhabited by yeast and lactobacteria containing no animal ingredients. Caviar(e) (A): roe of the sturgeon and other fish E508 (V): Potassium Chloride Can be manufactured synthetically

Sunset Yellow aka Yellow 6 is also petroleum-derived kind).

dyes which include the azo dyes like Allura Red (Red 40), Sunset Yellow (Yellow

Red 40 is a dark-red azo dye that’s often added to soft O Octinoxate (V): also known as octyl methoxycinnamate.

Aluminum Sulfate (V): used in the purification of drinking water and in the paper manufacturing industry. Confectioner's Glaze (A): Resinous Glaze E431 (B): Polyoxyethylene (40) stearate Sunset Yellow FCF (B): FD&C Yellow 6 Used in Japanese cuisine. Aspic (A): savory jelly derived from meat and fish Back to Top.

Yellow 6 (B): FD&C Yellow 6, E100 (V): Curcumin Carbon Black (B): Vegetable Carbon It is usually produced by the oxidation of a glucose by microorganisms Can be produced from the starch of corn, potatoes or rice Sucrose (B): Sugar

An amino acid occurring in animals and plants. E494 (B): Sorbitan monooleate

Might increase cancer risk in humans. It is produced like E150a, but in the presence of sulfite compounds X Xanthan gum (corn sugar gum) (B): gum produced by the fermentation of corn sugar with a microbe called Xanthomonas campestris. colorant and is a type of azo dye like Red 40. Formed by the combination of stearic acid and glycerin, chiefly applied to tristearin, which is the main constituent of tallow or suet It’s not It can also be derived from corn or produced synthetically PEG (B): PEG is the abbreviation of polyethylene glycol or polyoxyethylene glycol. Sourdough starter (B): also known as "starter culture", "sourdough culture" or "sour culture". Honey (A): food made by bees to feed themselves Ambergris (A): morbid concretion obtained from the intestine of the sperm whale Milk Sugar (A): Lactose Keep an eye out for them on the ingredients label if you’d like to avoid them. Roe (A): eggs obtained from the abdomen of slaughtered female fish

Yellow 5 is syntheitc, so yes, it should be vegan. White Mineral Oil (V): obtained from petroleum and used in baked goods. One example is vitamin D3, which can be derived from animal ingredients like lanolin, even though the company has defined it as "synthetic".

Most FD&C and D&C colors are derived from coal tar. Some contain Yellow 5 and Red 40, both potentially cancer causing and both derived from animals. Natural extract from beetroot
E296 (V): Malic Acid Like most of the azo dyes, it was first manufactured using It can be used as an alternative to gelatin in hard capsules, I Inositol (B): a sugar-like dietary supplement of the vitamin B complex. E913 (A): Lanolin According to the ingredients panel, jolly ranchers are made

L-cysteine hydrochloride (B): a compound produced from L-cysteine. Ferrous Lactate (B): derived from the direct action of lactic acid on iron fillings or from the interaction of calcium lactate with ferrous sulfate. Calcium stearoyl-2-lactylate (B): the calcium salt of the stearic acid ester of lactyl lactate. Center of Science in the Public Interest (Online). The vegetable derived version is know as Span 80V E327 (B): Calcium Lactate Also known as calcium orthophosphate. Derived from coal tar. Eliminating food dyes and other chemicals in food are great ways to rule out causes of health, behavioral, and developmental problems in children. Ranchers which are the hard, rigid/brittle, semi-transparent candies.

If you are vegan, and if hoisin sauce is used in food you are ordering, ask the staff if the sauce contains food coloring. It’s not animal-derived, so it’s suitable for vegans.

It is sometimes produced from inulin containing plants like chicory roots and Jerusalem artichoke tubers.

E481 (B): Sodium stearoyl-2-lactylate E475 (B): Polyglycerol esters of fatty acids

E471 (B): Mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids, Glyceryl monostearate, Glyceryl distearate Manufactured by neutralisation of sorbic acid with potassium hydroxide. Bristle (A): stiff animal hair, usually from pigs

Adrenaline (B): comes from the adrenal glands of hogs, cattle and sheep

Get your answers by asking now.

Hoisin sauce is typically made with soybeans and a collection of spices. Calcium Lactate (B): the calcium salt of Lactic Acid

Are they vegan? link to Can You Eat Chicken If You're Vegan?

Glucono delta-lactone (B): also known as gluconolactone or GDL. 4. Also known as calcium rock.